Share this

Heart Foundation awards recognise excellence and innovation in Australian heart, stroke and blood vessel disease research.

Heart Foundation Research Medal for Lifetime Contribution to Cardiovascular Research

This medal recognises outstanding individual contribution to the fields of heart, stroke and blood vessel disease research in Australia over a sustained period. 

Winners exemplify research excellence and represent the best in their field with national and international recognition.

The Research Medal is given every 2 years. 


Candidates must: 

  • be an Australian citizen
  • have received national recognition of their research
  • have a distinguished record of publications in peer-reviewed journals
  • have been involved with the Heart Foundation and have a history of contributions to our goals and objectives


Nominations for the 2017 Research Medal are now open and close 31 July 2017.

Please refer to the nomination form (DOC)

For more information, email or phone (03) 9321 1581.

Past winners

2015: Professor Andrew Tonkin and Professor Gregory Dusting
2013: Professor Philip Barter
2009: Professor John Chalmers and Professor Garry Jennings
2007: Professor Robert Graham
2006: Professor Paul Nestel

Ross Hohnen Award for Research Excellence

The Ross Hohnen Award for Research Excellence recognises each year’s most outstanding and innovative Vanguard Grant application. The award provides $10,000 on top of the grant.

The award is given in memory of Ross Hohnen, AM, OBE, who was instrumental in establishing the Heart Foundation. His commitment and leadership enabled the Heart Foundation to become the largest non-government funder of cardiovascular research in Australia. Read more about Ross Hohnen’s achievements in his Sydney Morning Herald obituary.

Past winners

2014: Associate Professor Graham Hillis 
2013: Associate Professor Clara Chow
2012: Dr Thiruma Arumagam
2011: Professor Karlheinz Peter
2010: Professor Jenny Gamble
2009: Dr Thiruma Arumagam
2008: Dr Owen Prall
2007: Associate Professor Merlin Thomas
2006: Professor Michael Good
2005: Dr Shane Thomas
2004: Dr Xiao-Jun Du

The year listed is the year in which the funding application was made.

Heart Foundation Paul Korner Innovation Award

The Heart Foundation Paul Korner Innovation Award is given to the most innovative successful Future Leader Fellowship and Postdoctoral Fellowship applications each year. 

The award was introduced in 2013 in memory of Professor Paul Korner and his contribution to cardiovascular research and provides a single payment of $20,000 on top of the Fellowship. Read more about Paul Korner's achievements in his Sydney Morning Herald obituary.

2014 winners

Future Leader Fellowship

  • Dr Pascal Molenberghs
  • Dr Claudia Nold 

Postdoctoral Fellowships

  • Dr Yung-Chih Chen
  • Dr James Chong
  • Dr Xiaowei Wang

2013 winners

Future Leader Fellowship

  • Dr Michael Inouye 

Postdoctoral Fellowship

  • Dr Erik Westein